Pl Wi T = bty womngy
T Llﬁ.’.t‘”‘( --’L\J'L‘iirg; 'i\::f-u,..

Virginia Taxes and Lottery Winnings

The 1987 legislation establishing the state-operated lottery requires the withholding of state income tax for
prizes awarded by the Virginia Lottery Department in excess of $5,000. Legislation also provides an in-
dividual income tax subtraction for each single prize awarded by the Lottery Department of less than $600.
The following points outline how Virginia state income tax laws apply to lottery winnings:

Income Tax Withholding

* If the prize is more than $5,000, Virginia income tax (4%) will be withheld on the entire amount of
the prize.

* Withholding is also required for nonresident lottery winners.
*  Form W-2G will be 1ssued for each prize of $600 or more.

* Taxpayers must meet 90% of their state income tax obligation through the vear either by withhold-
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Ing or paying estimated taxes. Estimated income tax must be paid on lottery prizes the same as with
any other income.

Reporting Lottery Winnings

*  Louery winnings must be reported for the taxable year in which the lottery drawing was held, not the
date the winnings were claimed.

* Anvsingle prize of $600 or more is subject to state income tax.

* Anysingle lottery prize of less than $600, to the extent included in federal adjusted gross income,
may be subtracted in determining Virginia taxable income. (See Part I1I of Virginia Form 760.)

*  Asinthe past. taxpavers may itemize their gambling losses on the federal return. Itemizing losses on
the tederal return will not preclude a taxpayer from claiming the subtraction for prizes under $600
on the Virginia return. As a rule. gambling losses mav not exceed gambling winnings.

Multiple Winners

When a prize is claimed by a group. family unit, club, or other organization, multiple winners will
be required to file an IRS Form 5754 ("Statement By Persons Receiving Gambling Winnings") with
the Lottery Department or attach a statement to their federal income tax return including a) name.
b) Social Security number or employer’s federal identification number, and 3) the amount each in-
dividual or entity received from the lottery prize.

Each individual person’s or entity’s share of $599 or less will be subject to state income taxes if the
total prize prior to distribution among the group, family unit, club or organization is $600 or more.,
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